Back to Top

singer, songwriter, comedian, author, poet, broadcaster and multi-instrumentalist

Walking the Peak and Pennines

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Michael Joseph; First Published 1992 edition (31 Mar 1994)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0718133587
  • ISBN-13: 978-0718133580

This book covers the area of England that runs from Dovedale in the south of the Derbyshire Peak District National Park, over the bleak and lonely Dark Peak to the smouldering industrial valleys between Oldham and Huddersfield, then north through Todmorden, the Brontes’ Haworth and finally to Pendle Hill – the hill of witches – in Lancashire. 
Throughout his journey, Mike is conscious of the people who helped mould this landscape; the summits under which the bones of Norsemen and Celts are buried, and the moors and hills where the mill poets roamed after a week’s work at the loom. This is not a country-comfortable landscape, but it has a nature all of its own

Walking the Peak and Pennines is a book to use as a starting-point, to enjoy and discover places that are perhaps not yet over-run and where we can still walk quietly in rare solitude.